Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ella Fitzgerald

Retrospective 1936-1956

« Je ne savais pas que nos morceaux étaient aussi bons avant de les avoir entendus chantés par Ella Fitzgerald » (Ira Gershwin).

Après les coffrets consacrés à Django Reinhardt, Charlie Parker, Billie Holiday et Louis Armstrong, la collection Saga rend hommage à la « First Lady of Song », Ella Fitzgerald.
Marc Thomas, chanteur, scatteur, saxophoniste, nous avait déjà fait découvrir l’univers de Lady Day ; il récidive avec celle qui occupe, depuis son enfance, confie-t-il, une place à part dans sa vie, et nous propose un choix d’interprétations « coup de cœur ».

De ses débuts avec l’orchestre de Chick Webb en 1936, jusqu’aux premiers albums dédiés aux grands compositeurs populaires américains (les fameux « Song Books ») : de la fraîcheur charmante de ses 19 ans à la maturité éblouissante d’émotion et de justesse de ton. Sans oublier les étincelants scats bebop en compagnie du big band de Dizzy Gillespie et quelques splendides duos : tendres avec Louis Armstrong, complices avec Louis Jordan, brillants avec Joe Williams.
Malgré son trac et sa timidité, elle se donnait si entièrement à la musique et à son auditoire que sa joie de chanter évidente et son swing irrépressible lui valurent l’estime des musiciens, le respect des critiques et l’adoration du public. 

Un superbe coffret de trois CD comprenant un livret en couleur richement illustré (photos, partitions, pochettes), une préface de Claude Carrière, une sélection de 68 titres commentés par Marc Thomas, une étude de Philippe Baudoin sur les citations musicales parsemant l’œuvre de la chanteuse.

Extraits du livret Ella Fitzgerald Retrospective 1936-1956

“I never knew how good our songs were until I heard Ella Fitzgerald sing them” (Ira Gershwin).

Following on from the boxed sets devoted to Django Reinhardt, Charlie Parker, Billie Holiday and Louis Armstrong, the Saga collection pays tribute to the “First Lady of Song”, Ella Fitzgerald.
Marc Thomas, singer, scattist and saxophonist, has already introduced us to the world of Lady Day; he does it again with the woman who, he confides, has held a special place in his life since childhood, and offers us a selection of his “favorite” interpretations.

From his debut with Chick Webb’s orchestra in 1936, to his first albums dedicated to the great American popular composers (the famous “Song Books”): from the charming freshness of his 19th birthday to a maturity dazzling with emotion and aptness of tone. Not forgetting the sparkling bebop scats with Dizzy Gillespie’s big band and some splendid duets: tender with Louis Armstrong, complicit with Louis Jordan, brilliant with Joe Williams.
Despite her stage fright and shyness, she gave herself so completely to the music and to her audience that her obvious joy of singing and irrepressible swing earned her the esteem of musicians, the respect of critics and the adoration of audiences.

A superb three-CD box set featuring a richly illustrated full-color booklet (photos, scores, sleeves), a preface by Claude Carrière, a selection of 68 tracks with commentary by Marc Thomas, and a study by Philippe Baudoin of the musical quotations scattered throughout the singer’s work.

CD1 – 1936-1945
01 Vote for Mr. Rhythm
02 Goodnight My Love
03 Dedicated to You
04 The Dipsy Doodle
05 I Want to Be Happy
06 A-Tisket A-Tasket
07 Strictly from Dixie
08 My Heart Belongs to Daddy
09 Undecided
10 Moon Ray
11 Sugar Blues
12 Cabin in the Sky
13 Mama, Come Home
14 Jim
15 And Her Tears Flowed Like Wine
16 Cow-Cow Boogie (Cuma Ti-yi-yi-ay)
17 He’s My Guy
18 It’s Only a Paper Moon
19 A Kiss Goodnight
20 I’m Beginning to See the Light
21 Stone Cold Dead in the Market
22 Benny’s Coming Home on Saturday
23 Petootie Pie
24 Flying Home

CD2 – 1946-1950
01 You Won’t Be Satisfied Until You Break My Heart
02 The Frim Fram Sauce
03 I’m Just a Lucky So-and-So
04 I Love You For Sentimental Reasons
05 A Sunday Kind of Love
06 My Baby Likes to Be-Bop
07 That Old Feeling
08 Oh, Lady Be Good
09 Robbins Nest
10 How High the Moon
11 Happy Talk
12 Basin Street Blues
13 I Hadn’t Anyone Till You
14 Baby, It’s Cold Outside
15 Black Coffee
16 Don’cha Go ’Way Mad
17 I’ve Got the World on a String
18 Ain’t Nobody’s Business But My Own
19 Dream a Little Dream of Me
20 Looking for a Boy
21 How Long Has This Been Goin On?
22 Soon
23 BudElla (Blue Skies)
24 How High the Moon

CD3 – 1951-1956
01 Smooth Sailing
02 Would You Like to Take a Walk?
03 Who Walks In When I Walk Out?
04 Rough Ridin’
05 If You Can’t Sing It You’ll Have to Swing It
(Mr. Paganini) Part 1 & Part 2
06 Blue Lou
07 Makin’ Whoopee
08 Preview
09 Angel Eyes
10 Ella’s Contribution to the Blues
11 That Old Black Magic
12 April in Paris
13 The Party Blues
14 Night and Day
15 Let’s Do It
16 Air Mail Special
17 My Funny Valentine
18 Cheek to Cheek
19 The Nearness of You
20 Isn’t This a Lovely Day